top of page


Connecticut is home to twelve species of salamander, representing four families: Ambystomatidae (Mole Salamanders), Plethodontidae (Lungless Salamanders), Proteidae (Mudpuppies), and Salamandridae (Newts).  Click on the images below to learn more about Connecticut's salamanders and to view their unique identifying characteristics.

Jefferson Salamander

Blue-spotted Salamander

Spotted Salamander

Marbled Salamander

 Dusky Salamander

 Two-lined Salamander

Spring Salamander

Four-toed Salamander

Red-backed Salamander

Slimy Salamander


Eastern Newt

bottom of page