top of page

Frogs and Toads

Connecticut is home to eleven species of frog, representing four families: Bufonidae (Toads), Hylidae (Treefrogs), Pelobatidae (Spadefoot Toads), and Ranidae (True Frogs). Click on the images below to learn more about Connecticut's frogs and toads and to view their unique identifying characteristics.

American Toad 4_D. Quinn.JPG

American Toad

Fowler's Toad

Gray Treefrog

Spring Peeper

Eastern Spadefoot


Green Frog

Pickerel Frog

Atlantic Coast Leopard Frog 2_D. Quinn.J

Atlantic Coast Leopard Fog

Northern Leopard Frog

Wood Frog

bottom of page